SNSD | Gee

Today on #AddictingKpop | SNSD – Gee

Behold! One of the first #kpop songs to get me into the genre!

I don’t quite remember exactly which song of GG got me into it – Gee…Into the New World…Genie…Girls’ Generation…Ooh La-La – although I’m inclined to say one of the first two mentioned, and I’ve been stuck on them ever since. It was around the same time I was having difficulty following my break up with my ex and this type of music was so…happy.

That summer I had opted to stay on my college campus instead of going home and working with their summer student hire program. Note: NEVER break up with someone during a midterm or finals week. You will NOT do well on your scores! That’s an obvious statement, but I was so stupid that I did it anyway. My family still doesn’t quite understand why I love this genre so much, but that’s it in a nutshell.


Now…onto the song itself! “Gee.”

It’s quite ironic that I chose this song to love because of the core essence of the song. What’s it about? You guessed it – love. But seriously…there’s a cameo in the MV that I didn’t notice until a few years ago…Minho from SHINee. Another group I was getting into at the time. Okay enough of that fangirling…

Gee is still one of the most recognizable tunes in both the Eastern and Western hemispheres. Every new group since then has covered it in one way or another.


Mamamoo

Lovelyz

Super Junior

2AM, 2PM, SHINee, Super Junior

SNSD, SHINee, F(x)


Of course there are soooo many more examples out there, some even more old school than those, but it’s so much fun watching groups like Super Junior cover girl group songs – they ham it up all the way yet take it super seriously at the same time. That’s all part of the vast music culture in Korea.

There are so many directions this could take — problems within SM Entertainment, visual aspects, fandom — but for now just enjoy the music and perhaps I’ll get into that in some later blog post. I encourage you, if you haven’t already, to have a listen to more from GG!

Leave a Reply

