SHINee | Tell Me What To Do

Today on #AddictingKpop | SHINee – Tell Me What To Do

I should be heading to bed because it’s nearly 1:00 AM but what am I doing instead? Posting another blog. That’s the idiot in me not listening to the logical side of my brain. But what can I do when one of my new favorite songs just popped up on my play list but write about it? Earlier this evening I wrote about Girls’ Generation’s Gee. Now let’s look at SHINee’s “Tell Me What to Do.” This MV was released last November, 2016, and so far it’s only seen 8 million views. Now, even though I do consider myself to be a SHAWOL, this doesn’t make sense. This is a fantastic song. But before we dive into what’s going on in a single MV, let’s have a look at SHINee first.

SHINee truly is one of kpop’s most underrated groups. We can, without a doubt, say that they are one of the few first or second generation groups that have retained all their original members. Now, even though I claim to be a SHAWOL, I am not always accurate in being able to pick out who’s singing what at any given time. I’m not that talented. Some are. I’m not. But I digress…

SHINee consisting of five members – Jonghyun, Onew, Taemin, Minho and Key – debuted in 2008 with the album The Shinee World. It was followed by fellow Korean albums LuciferThe Misconceptions SeriesOdd, and 1 of 1. Japanese albums, in chronological order, are The FirstBoy Meets UI’m Your BoyDxDxD and Five. One of their most iconic MVs would have to be Lucifer, with their 90s hair, wacky style and flashy cars. One thing their fans, known as SHAWOL, loves about them is they rarely do the same concept twice – like how many girl groups seem to get stuck in the “cute” phase for two or three MV releases. Now…back to the music


Tell Me What To Do is one of my ultimate favorites of SHINee (maybe not how this sentence was grammatically worded, but what what do you want from me at 1:15 AM?) The aesthetics are no joke, but I do think I should note that I feel like the boys are…well…a bit too thin. I do understand some of Korea’s culture surrounding body image and all that, it did make me a bit sad to see that. Seriously girl…stop digressing!

Sigh…the single girl in me is wishing I could have two guys fighting over me. But, then again, I also don’t like attention. But here we have the classic triangle, with their friends standing on the sidelines watching it all unfold. (Can we mention their tight pants too? Oh Lordy) It’s a grungy setting in an old building, with premonitions of an exploding car intermixed with scenes of a happier time. They’re party boys in this concept, and it all goes to crap when one wants what he can’t have.

I won’t spoil any more of it for you, except the smoothness of all their voices is no joke. Enjoy #tellmewhattodo!

Leave a Reply

