Dakkochi | Chicken on a Stick

Well now. If this image doesn’t take me back to China (even though it is a Korean dish!) I don’t know what else does. Of course, all credit in this post goes to Ms. Seonkyoung Longest with her YouTube channel linked to her name. I am just taking the time to post it here as a reminder to try this, at least this weekend, because I immediately flashed back to my time in China. We had two favorite street vendors we visited while we were there; well, they were my two favorites! One was our baozi lady and we always seemed to buy too many in the morning. The second gentleman we visited at least every other night for the eight weeks we were there and he laughed hysterically at our horrible pronunciations. But at least our pain in trying to learn the language was his enjoyment, right? He served the simplest versions of Ms Longest’s recipe. If I remember correctly he did mostly beef, but sometimes had chicken as well. We would stay until almost curfew and we’d have to weave our way back down past all the other booths to get back to campus. As soon as I saw this video it took me back there and I smiled. So, thank you, Ms. Longest, for transporting me back to 2008!


I am such a dunce when it comes to Asian cooking it’s ridiculous. I don’t own a wok. I barely own seasonings and I think the only thing I’ve done to my rice so far is add Salmon or Kimchi Furikake to it. I mostly end up making fried rice, and honestly, I’m ready to branch out and try more recipes. You can watch the video above for a more detailed look on how to make this, but I’ll put the ingredient list below as well. Step-by-step images are available on her website, so I’ll let her be the one to explain how to make it! The trickiest part for me, however, will be to find a proper grilling surface! Happy cooking!


1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast or thighs (or both), cut into one inch pieces
1/4 tsp black pepper
3 tbsp cooking wine
1 tsp grated ginger
1 tbsp grated garlic
Marinate chicken in pepper, wine, ginger, ginger and garlic
8-10 green onions, cut into 1.5 inch pieces

Sweet Sauce
1/2 c. soy sauce
1/2 c. honey

Spicy Sauce
1/2 c. Sweet Sauce recipe
1 tbsp Korean red pepper flakes
1 tbsp sriracha
1/4 tsp black pepper
6 to 8 6in bamboo skewers, soaked in water (to prevent burning during cooking


For full step-by-step instructions and other great articles on Korean dishes, please follow the links below to her social media!

Dakkochi |
Twitter |
YouTube |
| Instagram|
| Facebook |

Leave a Reply

