[Station] Ten | Dream in a Dream

Today on #AddictingKpop | Ten – Dream in a Dream

NCT17 is a group that I haven’t dabbled much time into, but when this song was released I was intrigued. What greeted me was an absolutely gorgeous mixture of Korean instrumentals, dance and visuals. If I am completely honest, I think the sheer number of members of this group is what intimidates me. There’s Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, Winwin, Mark (funny, since there’s also a Mark in GOT7), Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Chenle and Jisung. My head still spins trying to remember the members of EXO and Super Junior!

Although they’re still a fairly new group, having just debuted last year, their following is extensive. It has the same concept as Japan’s AKB48, where different units (in this case, NCTU, NCT127 and NCTDream) make up the whole group.


This “solo” release is technically for SM’s “STATION” channel, where they showcase and experiment with different styles and songs. It’s the same channel where Hyoyeon from SNSD released her Mystery song, another great dance single. As far as I know, since I’m not a “stan” of NCT, Ten is the first to release an M/V. (Someone please correct me if I have this fact wrong!)

This song can easily be described as a beautiful modernization of Asian instrumentals and dance. What surprised me the most is that he, Ten, sang entirely in English. At first the pops of color were a bit too much but somehow they all work with the filmography and the choreography.

It was funny to me how many commentators of the video disliked the fact that Ten barely sang but I think that they missed the point of the video. It’s a different type of expression. The dance is the song. What’s interesting to note is he was actually born in Thailand, so there’s definitely influences of that in the M/V.


I am quite pleased with this M/V (even though he’s contracted under SM Entertainment…I hope they’re adjusting their ways…) and I look forward to seeing him continue to grow as an artist! While the group as a whole may not necessarily be my “cup of tea,” I can certainly appreciate their efforts! Ten is a fantastic contributor to their releases.

Leave a Reply

