Minzy | Superwoman

Today on #AddictingKpop | Minzy – Superwoman
To learn more about Minzy, visit this link!Minzy | 니나노 ft. Flowsik


I have never been one that has to choose a bias from each kpop group I groove to. They’re groups where each member was able to contribute and shine. Maybe not always equally, but I found it easier to pay attention when they were smaller than nine members. I think, after stanning SNSD for so long I knew I couldn’t invest more time into another group larger than five. Even groups like GOT7, BTS and GFRIEND are a bit too much for me. So with the exceptions of Luna (F(x)), Sunny (SNSD), Siwon (Super Junior), and basically everyone from SHINee, I knew I couldn’t let myself add anymore.

Until Minzy came out with Superwoman.


I am not sure how well-received this song is in Korea but for me this is a must-have song. It’s even more empowering than CL’s Hello B******. I think I made that point in my previous post about Minzy’s Ninano, but it’s completely true. I’ve never been hardcore in anything I do – not my attitude, my words or my actions. So while CL’s debut is a fun song, it just didn’t speak to me as it did other kpop fans. The way I see it, CL has always had that fire (of course BTS’ Fire chorus is bursting through my head right now, ruining my train of thought), but I think that Minzy, strong in her own right, needed this song as well. Let’s do something a little different and take a look at the lyrics.


Today was tough too I was running around
I was walking and walking and looked at myself in the mirror
Painful hours grow so they harden
Past times that I endured strongly

There were a lot of times I almost fell
I got up every time I felt like I was gonna cry
Even if you leave far away from my side
I don’t care I’m gonna go my way

I won’t get weak I’m not afraid, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman
I’m not soft I won’t get sad, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman

Ooooooo~ I’m Superwoman
Ooooooo~ I’m Superwoman

Today again all I did was sigh
I worked all day without a break
I looked at my tired face in the mirror

There’s more things to be worried about
But I endured many days confidently
So I can overcome them

There were a lot of times I tried to give up
When I’m about to fall I get up again
Even if you leave far away from my side
I don’t care I’m gonna go my way

I won’t get weak I’m not afraid, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman
I’m not soft I won’t get sad, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman

Ooooooo~ I’m Superwoman
Ooooooo~ I’m Superwoman

You may break and shatter
But you’re still radiating
Love yourself you’re so beautiful

You may break and shatter
But you’re still radiating
Love yourself you’re so beautiful

I won’t get weak I’m not afraid, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman
I’m not soft I won’t get sad, I scream passionately
I’m Superwoman

There were a lot of times I almost fell
I got up every time I felt like I was gonna cry
Even if you leave far away from my side
I don’t care I’m gonna go my way

Ooooooo~ I’m Superwoman~


I think this is one of those songs where over-analyzing isn’t necessary. You can tell she is when she performs it live:

I mean lookit! She’s even using her 2NE1 mic! I’m so glad they let her keep that! I must admit I hate how quiet the audience is, but apparently that’s how they are when someone’s debuting, no matter who they are. And I hope Minzy wasn’t too unnerved by it going into her solo debut!


All-in-all, with so many mixed messages everyone is getting these days, I think this is one of those ones that stands out and needs to be heard. South Korea, I hope you’re listening to Ms. Minzy, because I certainly am!

Leave a Reply

